What I learned in London

When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford. – Samuel Johnson 

London was a whirlwind, it came and went so quickly that my mind is still mostly all there and not here at school where it needs to be but I guess I can’t really complain. I was inspired and astounded by London all over again!

579878_10152647885250371_30604243_n

Our pre-1700’s pub crawl (at The George Inn above) was by far the best part, that night a local told me that it takes two years to really see London, I feel like there is still so much more for me to discover and be a part of. As I was scrolling through LondonLately I discovered London Walks, something I wish I had discovered three weeks ago but gives me all the more reason to go back…or move there. We gave ourselves a lot of self guided tours, being seniors in college and all, we had to find ways to save our money but these walks would have been fantastic, only £7! There is always next time!

If you are going on a trip where you know you are going to be doing a lot of walking, check the weather.  Of course London is known for it’s grey and dreary weather but last March in London, England was top notch in the weather department, sunny and comfortable, balmy even! March 2013 did not have the same effect. It was chilly and damp for the majority of the trip and this girl did not bring enough warm shoes or a warm enough coat.

I had packed about 5 pairs of flats and one pair of boots for the trip and I most certainly did not need ballet flats in that weather. JCrew posted a video recently about their shoes and I think this is what I had in mind for all my fun and shiny flats on this trip, wishful thinking. Shoes are like fairies after all!

418_10151329014625843_359202128_n

Something else I learned in London: if you are going on a trip of a life time, it’s a good time to disconnect. Here we all are at the science museum taking advantage of their free WiFi, looks fun right? Guys can we leave our phones at home next time?

481109_10152633294090510_1970135084_n

London was a fantastic trip and I felt right at home there. We are all already planning our next trip back but for now we should probably focus on the end of our senior year.

P.S. Yesterday was national Macaron Day, have you ever had a macaron? I had never had one before I went to London and I am addicted now! I got a dozen at Fortnum and Mason to bring home because they were that good. We ended up having tea at Ladurée after doing some shopping at Harrods on Thursday afternoon and the macarons there were to die for as well and so was the atmosphere! They have a shop in NYC (their only location in America) that I will, of course, be adventuring to.

2 thoughts on “What I learned in London

What do you have to say?

